Gly-CRRET Laboratory :

Growth, Repairing and Regeneration of Tissues

Partenaires

CNRS
Logo tutelle Logo tutelle
Logo tutelle Logo tutelle

Logo tutelle

Search

On the whole CNRS Web


Home page > Facilities > Microscopy Imagery

Microscopy Imagery

Several acquisition devices are available at the laboratory for image acquisition whether for macroscopic or microscopic specimens.

Histological preparations, stained by histochemistry or by immunolabeling are observable with microscopes from the standard color imagery with upright microscope to the epifluorescence or confocal fluorescence with inverted microscope. This can be done on glass slides or on fine bottom petri dishes.


Confocal Spinning Disc Microscopy


The facility offers an IX 81 Olympus inverted microscope for epifluorescence equipped with a spinning disc confocal device working with non coherent lightning (metal halide arc). The acquisition is performed through a cooled Hamamatsu ORCA R2 CCD camera. This easy to use system allows confocal or not observation of the same field, at the same resolution, and this with 5 channels (phase contrast, bleu, green, red and near infra-red fluorescences).


  • Bandwidth are given with precision on the following links:
    dsu-bis-2
    - UV excitation, blue fluorescence (U-MNU2 ).
    - Blue excitation, green fluorescence ( U-MWIBA3 ).
    - Green excitation, red fluorescence (U-MNG2 ).
    - Red excitation, near IR fluorescence (CY5 ).
  • This system can be used with the following objectives :

    - 4x phL NA 0.13 UplanFLU
    - 10 x ph1 NA 0.3 UPlanFLN
    - 20 x ph1 NA 0.45 LUCPlanFLN
    - 40 x ph2 NA 0.6 LUCPlanFLN
    - 60 x ph3 NA 1.25 Oil UplanFLN
    - 40 x NA 1.3 Oil UplanFLN

This apparatus provides greatly deblurred images in a single plan and authorises with axial stacks after deconvolution, 3D rendering and analysis of structures whose size is not lower than the order of the micrometer.

- Example of application : Antitumor and angiostatic activities of the antimicrobial peptide dermaseptin B2. van Zoggel H, Carpentier G, Dos Santos C, Hamma-Kourbali Y, Courty J, Amiche M, Delbé J. PLoS One. 2012 (Abstract).


Living Cells Observation


The device described above can be used for living cells observation by using a thermo-regulated incubation chamber placed onto the microscope stage. Cells are maintained at constant hygrometry at the temperature of 37°C with an atmosphere containing 5% of CO2.

spacer livin-glob-amb-2 chamberLiving-amb-4 spacer


Laser Scanning Confocal Microscopy


The laboratory has been recently equiped with a laser scanning confocal device (point to point acquisition) Olympus FV 1000.

fv1000pano-amb-bis

This system allows five channels for observation of blue, green, red, near IR fluorescence and transmission.

  • The excitation is provided by four lasers :
    fv1000-amb-bis-2
    - Near UV laser diode (405 nm) for blue fluorescence (430-455 nm).
    - Blue laser diode (473 nm) for green fluorescence (490-525 nm).
    - Green HeNe gas laser (543 nm) for red fluorescence (560-620 nm).
    - Red laser diode (635 nm) for near IR fluorescence (655-755 nm).
  • This system can be used with the following objectives:

    - 60 x NA 1.35 Oil UplanSApo
    - 40 x NA 1.3 Oil UplanFLN

This device allows an effective resolution within the order of 50 nm per point by using an oil immersion 40x (NA 1.3) objective and about 25 nm per point with the 60 x objective.


Routinely Microscopy


Two other microscopes are available for routinely control or observation applications:


- Evos automatic microscope. This eyepiece less microscope allows color and fluorescence observations, as well as slide scanning by image mosaic acquisitions. Available objectives are 4x, 10x, 20x and 40x. Fluorescences in red, green and blue are typically useful for DAPI, GFP and RFP observations.

- Upright Olympus BH2 microscope for epifluorescence equipped with a Scion monochrome CCD camera, and 10 x, 20 x 40x and 100x objectives (the two last ones are oil immersion). Observations are possible for the classical red, green and blue fluorescences (typically DAPI, FITC and Rhodamine etc...) and phase contrast.

spacer Evos2 bh2-1-2 spacer


Semi-microscopic and Macroscopic Image Acquisitions


A Dino Lite mini microscope provided with a polarized filter allows image acquisition at the semi-microscopic scale (large histological slices, biopsies etc…). A monochrome BL-200 Panasonic video CCD camera coupled to a Scion LG3 grabber card can be used for macroscopic object images acquisition like gels, or bacteria colonies for example. The quality of the images is compatible with densitometric analysis.

spacer dino lg7


spacer Computer Tools Developments Using the ImageJ Software

spacer imagej-1

For several years now, original image analysis programs have been developed at the laboratory by Gilles Carpentier.

These tools were designed to answer to particular problems encountered by researchers in the laboratory. Some of these tools are available for the community on the ImageJ’s NIH website, or on the author’s website.

Among the treated subjects, we can cite dot blot and protein array analysis, quantitative in vitro and in vivo angiogenesis analysis, Boyden chamber analysis, spacial calibration of images, helper tools for multidimensional image processing etc…

- Associated links: image.bio.methods.free.fr, ImageJ on Wikipedia, ImageJ software

spacer


Manager, Gilles Carpentier. Contact : carpentier@u-pec.fr

Laboratoire Gly-CRRET :

Croissance, Réparation et Régénération Tissulaires

Partenaires

CNRS
Logo tutelle Logo tutelle
Logo tutelle Logo tutelle

Logo tutelle

Rechercher

Sur le Web du CNRS


Accueil du site > Instrumentations > Imagerie en Microscopie

Imagerie en Microscopie

Plusieurs systèmes d’acquisition d’image sont accessible au laboratoire, aussi bien pour des sujets macroscopiques que microscopiques.

Les préparations histologiques révélées par coloration histochimique, ou par immuno-marquage, sont observables au microscope depuis l’imagerie couleur standard sur microscope droit jusqu’à l’observation en epifluorescence ou fluorescence confocale sur microscope inversé, que ce soit sur lame de verre ou en boite de pétri à fond mince.


Microscopie Confocale à Disque Rotatif


La plateforme propose un microscope inversé Olympus IX 81 à épifluorescence muni d’un système confocale à spinning disc (DSU) à lumière incohérente (arc metal halide). L’acquisition se fait par l’intermédiaire d’une caméra CCD refroidie Hamamatsu Orca R2. Cet outil d’une grande simplicité d’utilisation, permet des observations confocales ou non du même champs, à la même résolution, et ce sur 5 canaux (contraste de phase, fluorescences bleue, verte, rouge, et proche infra-rouge).


  • Les bandes passantes sont données avec précision sur les liens suivants :
    dsu-bis-2
    - Excitation UV, fluorescence bleue (U-MNU2 ).
    - Excitation bleue, fluorescence verte ( U-MWIBA3 ).
    - Excitation verte, fluorescence rouge (U-MNG2 ).
    - Excitation rouge, fluorescence proche IR (CY5 ).
  • Ce système est utilisable avec les objectifs suivants  :

    - 4x phL NA 0.13 UplanFLU
    - 10 x ph1 NA 0.3 UPlanFLN
    - 20 x ph1 NA 0.45 LUCPlanFLN
    - 40 x ph2 NA 0.6 LUCPlanFLN
    - 60 x ph3 NA 1.25 Oil UplanFLN
    - 40 x NA 1.3 Oil UplanFLN

Cet appareil procure des images grandement déflouées en plan simple, et avec des piles axiale il autorise après déconvolution, des analyses et rendus 3D pour des structures dont la taille est au minimum de l’ordre du micron.

- Exemple d’application : Antitumor and angiostatic activities of the antimicrobial peptide dermaseptin B2. van Zoggel H, Carpentier G, Dos Santos C, Hamma-Kourbali Y, Courty J, Amiche M, Delbé J. PLoS One. 2012 (Résumé).


Observation de Cellules Vivantes


Le système décrit ci-dessus peut être utilisé pour l’observation de cellules vivantes à l’aide d’une chambre thermostatée disposée sur la platine porte objet. Les cellules y sont maintenues à hygrométrie constante à une température de 37°C sous une atmosphère à 5 % de C02. spacer livin-glob-amb-2 chamberLiving-amb-4 spacer


Microscopie Confocale à Balayage Laser


Le laboratoire s’est équipé récemment d’un système de microscopie confocale à balayage laser (acquisition point par point) Olympus FV1000.

fv1000pano-amb-bis

Ce système permet d’observer 5 canaux en fluorescence bleu, rouge, verte, infra rouge, ainsi que la transmission.

  • L’excitation est assurée par quatre lasers :
    fv1000-amb-bis-2
    - Diode laser proche UV (405 nm) pour la fluorescence bleu (430-455 nm).
    - Diode laser bleu (473 nm) pour la fluorescence verte (490-525 nm).
    - Laser à gaz HeNe vert (543 nm) pour la fluorescence rouge (560-620 nm).
    - Diode laser rouge (635 nm) pour la fluorescence proche infra rouge (655-755 nm).
  • Ce système est utilisable avec les objectifs suivants :

    - 60 x NA 1.35 Oil UplanSApo
    - 40 x NA 1.3 Oil UplanFLN

Ce système permet d’obtenir une résolution utile de l’ordre de 50 nm par point, utilisé avec un objectif à immersion à huile 40 x (NA 1.3) et de l’ordre de 25 nm par point avec l’objectif 60 x.


Microscopie de Routine


Pour les applications routinières de contrôle ou d’observation, deux autres microscopes sont disponibles :


- Microscope automatique Evos. Ce microscope sans oculaire permet les observations en couleur et en fluorescence, ainsi que l’acquisition de « scans » de lames par de acquisitions de mosaïques d’images. Les objectifs disponibles sont 4x, 10x, 20x et 40x, les fluorescences, en rouge, vert et bleu, permettent typiquement l’observation du DAPI, des GFP et RFP.

- Microscope droit à épifluorescence Olympus BH2 muni d’une caméra CCD monochrome Scion et des objectifs 10x, 20x, 40x et 100x (ces deux derniers à immersion à huile). Les fluorescences classiques rouge, verte bleue, ainsi que le contraste de phase sont disponibles (typiquement pour les observation de DAPI, FITC, rhodamine etc...).

spacer Evos2 bh2-1-2



Acquisitions d’Images Semi-microscopiques et Macroscopiques


Pour prendre des images semi-microscopiques (larges coupes histologiques, biopsies etc...), un mini microscope Dino Lite muni d’un filtre polarisant permet d’avoir un champs large sans reflets. Enfin pour tout ce qui est images de gel d’acrylamide, d’agarose ou de colonies bactériennes par exemple, une camera vidéo CCD Panasonic monochrome BL-200 couplée à une carte d’acquistion Scion LG3 permet d’acquérir des images de qualité compatible avec une analyse densitométrique.

spacer dino lg7


spacer Développement d’Outils Informatiques avec le Logiciel ImageJ

spacer imagej-1

Des outils logiciels originaux sont développés depuis plusieurs années au laboratoire par Gilles Carpentier. Ces outils sont conçus pour répondre à des problèmes particuliers rencontrés par les chercheurs du laboratoires, et sont pour nombre d’entre eux, mis à la disposition de la communauté sur le site du NIH de ImageJ, ou bien sur le site de l’auteur.

Parmis les sujets abordés, on peut citer les analyses de dot blot, de protein array, l’analyse quantitative in vitro et in vivo de l’angiogenèse, l’analyse des chambres de Boyden, la calibration spaciale des images ou l’aide à l’édition d’images multidimentionnelles etc...

- Liens associés : image.bio.methods.free.fr, ImageJ on Wikipedia, ImageJ software

spacer


Responsable, Gilles Carpentier. Contact : carpentier@u-pec.fr